Trees in the Forest

Have you ever wandered through a forest passing tree upon tree upon tree? Have you ever had a single tree stand out to you for some reason known or unknown? Maybe it’s a strange analogy but my dad was a logger for a few years and I had the wonderful opportunity to experience these things first hand.

Yesterday I found such a tree in the forest of scripture. Well, more like God let it fall right on top of me.

“But what about you?” he asked. “Who do you say I am?”
Matthew 16:15-16 (NIV 2011
)

“What about you?”
It’s still echoing in my head.
“What about you?”

I can’t tell you how many times I have read that verse over the years. Multitudes for sure, but it has never struck me like it has now. Just sitting there burning itself through my flesh and laying itself onto my heart. It’s a calling for sure. A calling to be more of what he wants me to be.

Hear it once again.
“What about you?”

Let it ripple through your heart.
“What about you?”

Jesus wasn’t just talking to Peter was he? Of course not. But you already knew that didn’t you? Grin

IHS,
-Jim

Leave a Reply

