FireFox PDF Crashes

So, I’ve been having this problem for quite a while now. Whenever I would try to open a pdf file in FF the browser would crash and I;d get a crash report. I tried all their fixes with no joy. I have just been living with it. Using IE when I needed to open a pdf. Well, it did it to me again tonight so I decide to fix it for good. What I did isn’t actually a fix but more of a workaround.

  1. Open FireFox
  2. Go to Tools>Options in the top menu bar
  3. Type “adobe acrobat” in the search bar(w/o quotes)
  4. Change the Action for each item to “Use Adobe Reader…”
  5. Click OK
  6. Restart FireFox

That’s it. Now pdf’s will open in Acrobat instead of FF thereby avoiding the crash.

I hope that helps!

-Jim

Leave a Reply

