John Hits A Milestone!

Yesterday was a great day!  Why you say? Let me give you some background.

John has struggled with balance issues most of his life. It wasn’t until a few years ago that he could stand on a curb steadily without falling off. The ability to stay balanced on a bike has never really existed for him. Well I think he may have destroyed that barrier yesterday.

John has been skiing with Colorado Discover Ability at Powderhorn for the last few years. His lessons have consisted usually of 3 lessons over a three week period in January. This year he missed the second session so he had two lessons two weeks apart. The second lesson was a real break through for him. He has come a long way. Two weeks ago he was doing well but still having some problems. Yesterday however he seemed to just open up and exude confidence. He has become a skier confident of his abilities. Yes, I am proud, but more than that I am happy for my son who has faced many challenges and can always find something to laugh about.

John and two of his Instructors

John and two of his Instructors

I don’t want to forget to mention the staff at Colorado Discover Ability. These people are wonderful. You can tell when people enjoy what they do and these folks do. I really can’t thank all of you enough. I’m sure John is thankful too.

Here’s a 15 an 8 minute video recorded yesterday. I used a prefab theme and couldn’t figure out how to change the title but if I could have it would be “Victory!”

Once this snow melts we’re going to get out that bike. :^)

3 thoughts on “John Hits A Milestone!

  1. That is so awesome! I had no idea. John, you are amazing! Keep up the good work! Snowboarding is a difficult but fun sport.

    I’m very proud of you, and I can’t wait until we can go boarding together! I hope to see you soon!

    -Chris

Leave a Reply

