SAMBA Woes

Well if you’ve ever had the pleasure of working with SAMBA you know how much fun it is. Just as much fun as a stick in the eye. I had a working install but somewhere along the line an upgrade broke it. I don’t use it too often so I didn’t notice it until today.

Anyway, the point is I wanted to share with you what I found to be my salvation, GADMIN-SAMBA. I struggled with multiple configuration files and could not get secure access to the server. I finally started looking for a GUI interface and found this little jewel. Once installed I had a secure and working SAMBA server in minutes.

I have used GADMIN’s ftp and rsync front ends in the past with success so I wasn’t too surprised when it worked here too. Even with SAMBA’s convoluted configuration file.

Definitely recommended!

Leave a Reply

