Why do we put up with Windows?

I know why I do. Because it’s easy. With a non tech savvy wife and three kids from the ages of 2 to 9 I can’t make it too difficult on them. All you have to do with MS Windows is to just keep throwing hardware at it and it will keep on working. I was OK with that up until now. Having just purchased a new PC for the secretary at work which is loaded with Windows Vista my disappointment has grown even worse than it has ever been. I was pretty happy with Windows XP over the years but its appetite for RAM has turned me off completely.

So what is a guy to do? You can keep upgrading hardware to feed the Windows beast or move on to something else. I have chosen the latter and have installed Ubuntu 7.0.4 on my laptop as a trial run. I gotta tell you I am quite impressed. Install was a snap and getting my USB wireless adapter working was no problem at all. As a matter of fact I’m posting this from that system right now. Look for more from me regarding Ubuntu in the near future.

Leave a Reply

