June 9th 2007 Solo Launch Report

I woke up to a nice morning so I decided to go fly. I had a few rockets that had never flown as well as one that I couldn’t wait to see in the air. Had a little bit of damage to some ships but a good day over all.

Todays Fleet
Aerobee Hi, SC Drone, Fake-Wulf 290, Goldmember, American Arrow, Icarus, Blue Ninja, and the Tres.
The Fleet

Rack One
That Aerobee moves! Don’t tell my daughter I launched it without her.;^)
Rack One
Not to mention it lands on it’s feet.
Rack One
Goldmember (aka Big Betty) is just a nice flying rocket. The gold really shines so it’s easy to track.
Rack One

Rack Two
Icarus and SC Drone are up next.
Rack Two
SC Drone Lights up first. Nice high flight and straight as an arrow.
Rack Two
Icarus went up next. It popped the nosecone on ejection which I lost. The boosters chute didn’t come completely out of the tube either so it fluttered down suffering no damage at all. Now I have to get me a new nosceone though.:^(
Rack Two

Rack Three
The ever popular Blue Ninja was next. Nice flight but I need to get me a real parachute for this one. It seems to come down a bit quick I think.
Rack Three
Rack Three

Rack Four
The good old American Arrow. Another easy to prep, good flying rocket. It landed only about 15 feet from the pad which I thought was pretty cool.
Rack Four
Under Chute
Rack Four

Rack Five
The Tres is definitely one of my favorites. This thing is just awesome. Hit the button and it’s gone! unfortuanately I have a bit of damage to repair. :^(
Rack Five
All three motors lit. This is the second flight on this bird and both times I had all motors light. Gotta love it!
Rack Five
Ouch!
Rack Five
Double Ouch!!
Rack Five
Triple Ouch!!!
Rack Five

Rack Six
The one we’ve all been waiting for I bet. I didn’t get a lift off shot because I had a stubborn motor. After swapping a new igniter for the old one (which looked perfectly good) it still wouldn’t light. So I played around with my controller a bit and whoosh! What an awesome flight. It boosted straight up @ 400 feet then arced over and went horizontal. Seperation happened without incident and the glider flew off in a very wide arc. It was fantastic! One thing to note though, try not to fly it without at least two sets of eyes. Trying to track both pieces wasn’t fun.
Rack Six
Unfortunately the glider landed on the hard packed road and snapped off the wing tip. Nothing a little CA won’t fix though. (Of course I didn’t have any with me.) The chute stripped two lines but survived with no other damage.
Rack Six

Rack Seven
I flew Goldmember and AA once more time before packing up and heading for home. It’s only 10:00 am, what a way to start out the day!

One thought on “June 9th 2007 Solo Launch Report

  1. I put the last bit of post repair paint on the Tres after work today. The Fake-Wulf was repaired over the weekend and Quest is sending me a new nosecone for the Icarus. Once that gets here all damage from this launch will have been repaired. Just in time for Fathers Day!

Leave a Reply

